Emergency Food and Shelter Program Funding Available

Barry, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Lawrence, Polk, Stone, Taney, and Webster counties have been awarded Federal funds made available through the Department of Homeland Security (DHS)/Federal Emergency Management Agency under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program.

The selection was made by a National Board that is chaired by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and consists of representatives from American Red Cross; Catholic Charities, USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA; The Jewish Federations of North America, The Salvation Army; and, United Way Worldwide. The Local Board was charged to distribute funds appropriated by Congress to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in high-need areas around the country.

A Local Board in each jurisdiction will determine how the funds awarded are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the area. The Local Board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds made available under this phase of the program.

Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local agencies chosen to receive funds must: 1) be private voluntary nonprofits or units of government, 2) be eligible to receive Federal funds, 3) have an accounting system, 4) practice nondiscrimination, 5) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs, and 6) if they are a private voluntary organization, have a voluntary board. Qualifying agencies are urged to apply.

The counties listed above are distributing Emergency Food and Shelter funds currently with multiple local recipient organizations participating who are responsible for providing food and housing assistance.

Public or private voluntary agencies interested in applying for Emergency Food and Shelter Program funds must contact the local OACAC Neighborhood/Community Center for an application. Deadlines are as follows:

Barry: 1/29/21 by 4:30pm

Christian: 1/27/21 by 4:30pm

Dade: 1/21/21 by 4:00pm

Dallas: 1/13/21 by 5:00pm

Lawrence: 1/21/21 by 4:00pm

Polk: 1/14/21 by 4:00pm

Stone: 1/25/21 by 4:00pm

Taney: 1/20/21 by 4:00pm

Webster: 1/14/21 by 4:30pm

Contact the local OACAC Neighborhood/Community Center for an application. Contact information can be found at https://oac.ac/neighborhood-centers/.